Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Pro Sound Awards – Installation category winners

The third annual Pro Sound Awards took place once again at the Ministry of Sound, London on Thursday 24 September.

The event, in association with headline sponsor Sennheiser, opened with the Martin Audio-supported drinks reception, before Anna Mae’s served up southern US-inspired pulled pork, coleslaw and mac ’n’ cheese.

The awards ceremony itself, hosted by comedian Sean Collins, took in categories including Live/Touring Sound, Studio, Broadcast, Installation (sponsored by ourselves at Installation) and Marketing Campaign of the Year. These were voted for by a 50-strong panel of industry experts.

Among the finalists for best permanent installation award were Marquee AV/Bose for The Forum, Kentish Town; NoiseBoys for Leicester Cathedral; and Autograph Sales & Installations for the Barbican Centre. However, the award went to SSE and L-Acoustics for their installation at the Eventim Apollo. SSE’s Miles Hilyard collected the trophy.

Tannoy – represented by Sarah-Jane Thompson – picked up the award for best temporary installation project for The Wind Tunnel Project – beating finalists Two Big Ears for Björk’s Songlines; Merging Technologies for the Imperial War Museum London’s WWI galleries; and SNK Studios for Talking Statues.

The Team of the Year nominees were Polar Audio/Renkus-Heinz for Reading University; Dimension Audio/Sports Technology/d&b audiotechnik for the 2014 Commonwealth Games, Glasgow; NoiseBoys/JBL/VDC Trading for Leicester Cathedral; Genelec/Jutel for Restaurant Nallikari. The award went to the Commonwealth Games team: the trophy was presented to Mark Boden of Dimension Audio (left of picture) and Gianni Abruzzese of d&b.

Additionally, two special awards were made: the Grand Prix was awarded to Dante developer Audinate: PSNEurope editor Dave Robinson presented the trophy to CEO Lee Ellison (main picture). Abbey Road Studios’ long-serving studio manager Colette Barber collected the Lifetime Achievement prize.

The after party, sponsored by Renkus-Heinz, featured a magician, the Technicolor-sponsored photobooth and the extremely popular Dr Balloonman.

Pro Sound Awards