Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Florian and Michael Quistrebert awarded World Masters of Projection Mapping trophy

Friday at ISE saw the culmination of an event that had been running since 14 January, with the awards ceremony for the World Masters of Projection Mapping competition seeing Florian and Michael Quistrebert announced as winners for their work STRIPES 5.

The event was produced by Integrated Systems Europe, Amsterdam Light Festival and RAI Amsterdam in close cooperation with its technical partners Panasonic Business, Alcons, BeamSystems, disguise and Lightware. The competition involved the five finalists‘ work being shown in the harbour area of Amsterdam, mapped onto the irregular facade of the EYE Filmmuseum.

“The World Masters of Projection Mapping has captured the imagination of not only ISE visitors, but also the city of Amsterdam and global media,” said ISE managing director Mike Blackman in his opening remarks. “The event’s connection with ISE is clear: it’s about using advanced AV technology to deliver truly creative solutions. It challenged both the creative and technical skills of all those who took part, with results that were truly innovative and extremely impressive.”

Those present at the ceremony were shown the five finalist entries, each as compelling as the other, followed by a brief Q&A with their creators.

Jury leader Lennart Booij of Amsterdam Light Festival noted that the seven jury members had been very much impressed by the way in which each entry had pushed the boundaries of what AV technology could achieve in very challenging conditions, and how they had tried to make use of the unique architectural features of the EYE Filmmuseum.

Summarising, Hartmut Kulessa, marketing manager for Panasonic Europe and a member of the jury, paid tribute to each entry, noting that all five were worthy winners.

Pictured (clockwise from top left): Florian and Michael Quistrebert; Lucas van der Velden and Gideon Kiers (from Telcosystems); Eder Santos; Geert Mul; Manuel Rodrigues and Alida Dors.
(All photos: Dorian Broekhuyse)