Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


Pro Sound Awards: Sennheiser, Funktion One and Wigwam are victorious

The inaugural Pro Sound Awards on 19 September saw a number of professional audio companies commended for their work in the industry.

Wigwam Acoustics, Sennheiser and Funktion One all picked up prizes at the inaugural Pro Sound Awards at London’s Ministry of Sound last night.

Each received honours from the Installation category, which was sponsored by Genelec.

In winning the Team of the Year Award, five members at the heart of the Wigwam Acoustics installations team were commended, including installations managers Tim Mortimer and Phil Goldsworth, plus David Orridge, Nigel Comrie and director Mick Spratt.

More applause on the night came when Funktion One stepped up on stage to pick up Permanent Installation Project of the year for the company’s work on the toboggan run for Winter Olympics, Sochi 2014.

Temporary Installation Project of the Year, meanwhile, went to Sennheiser for its work in the much-lauded David Bowie Is exhibition at the V&A in London.

Two special awards were presented on the night: acoustician and studio designer Andy Munro was rewarded with Lifetime Achievement recognition; and BEIRG, the British Entertainment Industry Radio Group (members pictured above along with sponsors DiGiCo), took the Grand Prix for its tireless campaigning for adequate access to interference-free spectrum for wireless technology users.

Other winners on the night included British Grove Studios, Sennheiser’s Mark Saunders and Conrad Fletcher & the Mixbus Audio Team for NT Live.

Xavier Stephenson was named the first Pro Sound Awards Rising Star, while Soundcraft Studer was victorious in the Marketing Campaign category.

The inaugural event, sponsored by headliners DiGiCo and Sennheiser and held in the famous London nightclub, saw hundreds of guests from across the professional audio industry celebrating and socialising until the early hours of Friday. The party was hosted by staff from across Intent Media’s seven audio and entertainment titles: PSNEurope, Installation, Audio Media, Audio Pro International, MI Pro, TVBEurope and Music Week. The reception was sponsored by Martin Audio, Integrated Systems Europe (ISE) bought the fizz, and Fineline Media Finance kept everyone drinking at the After Party.

The winners list in full:

LIVE/TOURING SOUND (sponsored by Medialease)
Engineer of the Year
Jim Warren

Tour Sound Production
Audio Electronics Mattijsen for the coronation of King Willem-Alexander, Amsterdam

After-Sales Support
Mark Saunders, Sennheiser

STUDIO (sponsored by Focusrite Novation)
Engineer of the Year
Toby Alington

Recording Production of the Year
Mark Ronson for Bruno Mars, Unorthodox Jukebox (album)

Studio of the Year
British Grove London

INSTALLED SOUND (sponsored by Genelec)
Team of the Year
Wigwam Acoustics

Permanent Installation Project of the Year
Funktion-One for toboggan run for Winter Olympics, Sochi 2014

Temporary Installation Project of the Year
Sennheiser for David Bowie Is, V&A, London

BROADCAST AUDIO (sponsored by Sony)
Team of the Year
Conrad Fletcher and the Mixbus Audio Team for NT Live

Broadcast Event of the Year
Riedel for the Red Bull Stratos Project

Facility of the Year
Goldcrest Post

Soundcraft Studer

RISING STAR (sponsored by Sennheiser)
Xavier Stephenson

Andy Munro

GRAND PRIX (sponsored by DiGiCo)