Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


PLASA reveals 2012 election results

PLASA, the membership body for those who supply technologies and services to the event, entertainment and installation industries, has announced the results of its month-long elections for positions on its European and North American Regional Boards.

PLASA’s month-long elections to determine positions on its European and North American Regional Boards, together with its central Governing Body, concluded at midnight on Wednesday 31 October.

Companies and individuals from PLASA’s worldwide membership voted in the elections which were conducted via a secure online poll.

There were four positions available on the European Regional Board. Martin Hawthorn of Hawthorn’s was re-elected to a second term as treasurer, while Mark Surtees of Outback Rigging successfully retained his position as production services representative. Noreen O’Riordan of Entec Sound and Light becomes the new rental company representative, while Steve Macluskie of the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland will take on a second term as the organisational representative.

Five positions were up for election on the North American Regional Board with Scott Hoyt of Heartland Scenic Studio elected as treasurer, David Schraffenberger of Production Advantage and Tracey Cosgrove of Rosco Laboratories taking the dealer and manufacturer representative positions respectively. Jules Lauve of Theatre Projects Consultants was re-elected for a second term as the professional services representative and the final place on the board is occupied by Marc Stephens of MPS Studios Dallas who will be representing rental companies.

The Governing Body elections, which ran in parallel with the Regional Board elections, focused on filling a single ‘at-large’ position voted for by the combined Business and Organisational memberships. Individual member, John McGraw, successfully retained his position and will continuing working with Steve Terry of Electronic Theatre Controls and John Simpson of White Light as the three ‘at large’ members who sit on the Governing Body alongside the Chair, Vice Chair and Treasurer of each of the Regional Boards.

All the candidates will commence three-year positions on their respective Boards – formally taking office from 1 January 2013.