Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


PLASA appoints new chair and board members

PLASA has announced changes to its elected board including the appointment of Adam Blaxill (pictured) as the new chair.

Adam Blaxill, who is director of Stage Electrics, originally joined the PLASA board as the professional services representative in 2012 and was elected as vice chair in 2014. He has been voted as the new chair of PLASA through a simple majority vote.

Blaxill takes over from Ed Pagett who has served as chair for seven years. During this time Pagett oversaw the demerger with ESTA with the support of an executive committee, which included Blaxill as vice-chair and Martin Hawthorn as treasurer.

Pagett will continue to serve as a non-executive director, contributing his knowledge and expertise to advise and support the association as it continues its work in the industry.

Peter Heath, managing director of PLASA, commented: “We are very much looking forward to having Adam as our chair and have faith in his knowledge and guidance. I would like to extend my thanks to Ed, who has been an extremely valuable chair since 2011 – we are delighted he will continue to work with us in his new role as non-executive director.

“PLASA has gone from strength to strength in recent years. We have made internal changes to ensure teams are all working from one location, as well as an incredibly successful 2017 for the PLASA Show, Focus shows, LSi and LSA magazines. The elected board continues to be a vital voice as the association moves forward.”

Other changes to the board include Martin Hawthorn of Hawthorn who has now become vice-chair after serving as treasurer since 2010, and Mark Surtees of Outback Rigging moves to the role of treasurer after previously serving as the production services representative.

There are three positions available in the forthcoming elections on the PLASA membership governing body: production services representative, professional services representative, and rental company representative. Members are invited to put themselves forward for these roles, which commence after the elections until December 2020.