News Market
installation logo

Next PLASA Awards launched

David Davies 7 July 2011
Next PLASA Awards launched

A new award for sustainability has been added to the 2011 PLASA Awards, which will take place during the PLASA Show at Earls Court in September.

Once again, the PLASA Awards for Innovation judges will be able to select eight product awards, with the option to award a Gold to a product or product which particularly stands out. Innovation nominees will be displayed in an Innovation Gallery situated near the Earls Court 2 entrance.

In a notable development, this year’s event sees the introduction of the Sustainability Award. Each product successfully nominated for the Innovation Awards will also be considered for the additional Sustainability Award, with primary criteria including: significant reduction of power usage for its product type/application; effective use of renewable energy sources; and significant reduction of environmental impact of product life-cycle.

Nominations are also being invited for the 2011 Gottelier Award. Named in honour of the late Tony Gottelier, the award is intended to recognise significant and sustained contributions to the progress of entertainment, presentation or installation technology.

Previous winners of the Gottelier Award – voting for which is restricted to the 1100-plus PLASA members, PLASA Show exhibitors and pre-registered visitors for PLASA 2011 – have included Funktion-One’s Tony Andrews (2007), DiGiCo/Soundtracs’ John Stadius (2008), Midas & Klark Teknik’s Alex Cooper (2009) and ETC’s Fred Foster (2010).

All winners of the 2011 PLASA Awards will be announced during the presentation ceremony at 6pm on 12 September at the PLASA Bar.

Image: Chris Toulmin

Similar stories